A note to self: The power of more

If you have tried to complete an application before, you would understand my feeling this morning as I tried to answer an essay question needed to complete an application I’ve been on for weeks. I finally got down to it because my boyfriend has taken it upon himself to give me a deadline and not let me rest until I get the essay written and the application submitted.

When I got to this question

“Tell us about yourself, and in doing so, describe the specific values, experiences and accomplishments that have shaped who you are and led you to pursue a career in public service.” (Maximum 500 words)

I started taking a log of all that I have done and achieved to enable me answer the question appropriately. Then I wondered “why do they need me to talk about my achievements? Why do they need that to offer me an admission? Why do I need to have achieved anything or had any experiences before being considered for an admission to learn?

Then it struck me

*THE PARABLE OF THE TALENTS(Matthew 25:14-30) ,Jesus after telling this parable to his disciples said ”For to everyone who has will be given, and he will have an abundance But from the one who has not, even what he has will be taken away”

That is how our world works: The more wealthy you become the more people are willing to  give to you. Success attracts more success. This is why the best students with the highest grades get the scholarships. This is why the candidate with the most experience for the role gets the job even in entry Job interviews.

Lessons learnt

It is not enough to have great burning desires, whether it’s career development, more streams of Income, or to become a philanthropist, until you get up, and actually do something, no matter how little, but consistently. You might never arrive at your desired goal.

This reminds me of the Shamger principle, taken from the story in the bible of a judge who used an ox-goad to kill 600 philistines and saved his people.

So the principle is this – Use what you have where you are with what you have to achieve the desired result.

Do not be afraid to take that step.

You won’t achieve your big picture in future. There is no day called the future, all you have is today, now and this moment.

It is those little actions you take today that would add up like a puzzle to that big picture. Even God himself values small moments (Psalm 139:16) “You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed.”

The first time I read this scripture I was bothered because God didn’t give me the book in which he wrote down everything I am meant to be doing per moment. So how am I supposed to know? If you’re thinking that right now think no further,according to 1 corinthians 2:9 “but just as it is written,
“THINGS WHICH EYE HAS NOT SEEN AND EAR HAS NOT HEARD,
AND which HAVE NOT ENTERED THE HEART OF MAN,
ALL THAT GOD HAS PREPARED FOR THOSE WHO LOVE HIM.”

10For to us God revealed them through the Spirit; for the Spirit searches all things, even the depths of God. 11For who among men knows the thoughts of a man except the spirit of the man which is in him? Even so the thoughts of God no one knows except the Spirit of God. 12Now we have received, not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, so that we may know the things freely given to us by God, 13which things we also speak, not in words taught by human wisdom, but in those taught by the Spirit, combining spiritual thoughts with spiritual words.”

Those Ideas you have, those urges you have, that is God revealing to you what he has written down in his book. When opportunities come,it is those little things you’ve done that would qualify you for them.

Dear Self,

It’s time to get serious. Quit waiting for the right moment to take that step. Eliminate those excuses. Burn the bridges!

Do more. Read more. Achieve more. Know more. Love more. Listen more.

Lots of Love

me

 

About Nkechi

Hey!  I'm Nkechi, a beautiful young woman who is on a journey to becoming the woman God has created for me to be. I love to help people achieve their goals and i'm sharing my thoughts and things I'm learning in hopes to inspire others. I believe that beauty lies within us all and those who dare to grow and express it would achieve true greatness, happiness and fulfilment.  Here you will find lots of things ranging from natural hair care, fashion, beauty, being single, spirituality, and random fun stuff. :)
This entry was posted in Inspiration, My Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A note to self: The power of more

  1. Wow! Very well said.
    My thoughts exactly. Let’s go all the way tite very top. Let’s leave our foot print in the sands of time.
    Great piece dear.

    Like

  2. Kikelomo says:

    Wow…………what an inspiration……….i learnt a lot from this article. Excuses are enemies to us all, hence it should not be allowed to determine our stage in life. Kudos to you Kesh……………

    Like

  3. divine_diva says:

    Nkechi.. this is awesome. I love it when as youths we look beyond d now…. past our present experiences especially when they r not exactly fun and try to find life time lessons in it…. bless ur heart gurl! great write

    Like

  4. Christabel says:

    Sweetie, you’ve said it all. The time is now. Much inspired by this article. Thanks a million times

    Like

  5. Chuchu says:

    I always knew you were destined for greatness. Am impressed

    Like

  6. Caesar Frank says:

    Am inspired!!! Right thoughts at the right moment. Thanks Kech.

    Like

  7. Eby says:

    read every bit of it, very inspiring. Nice piece baby doll

    Like

Please leave a comment

