One shocking discovery about natural hair

baking soda

I can not believe I’m writing this ”Baking soda is a no no for my hair”.

A year ago, after I learnt about the toxic ingredients used in most commercial shampoos and their adverse effect on the natural hair. I decided to switch to baking soda. In fact, earlier on, my hair journey motto was ”If you can’t eat it, don’t put it on your hair”.  So for one year I have been washing my hair with baking soda and using apple cider vinegar as a conditioning rinse. 3 weeks ago I decided to try co washing, my hair came out softer and easier to detangle but it didn’t feel new, I didn’t notice any difference using the 2 stuff to wash my hair  but 2 days ago I decided to use my baking soda for a change and that was when I made the discovery, [well not really a discovery] – I poured the mixture of baking soda and water on my hair and felt my hair to massage. The moment my hand touched my hair I knew something had gone wrong – it felt different. It felt dry and coarse and brittle. That was when it struck me this is how my hair comes out every time I use baking soda. I didn’t think it was wrong because i had gotten used to the dryness and squeaky feel  ”clean” hair which I thought was ideal.

It struck me how this applies to every other thing in Life. Consistency doesn’t necessarily make things right. Wrong is wrong no matter how long you’ve been on it, you never know how peaceful and good right would feel until you try it.

By the time i finished washing my hair. My perfectly detangled hair had tangled again. Something i didn’t experience all the times i co- washed my hair.It took a few days and some deep conditioning to get my hair as soft as it felt the first time i co washed.

Lessons learnt:

Baking soda stripped my hair of it’s moisture

It made my washing and detangling sessions a lot difficult

Further lessons:

To maintain your healthy mane you must seek to retain your hair moisture and stay away from hair products that strip the hair. Read, research but most of all listen to your hair.

Please follow the link to learn how to handle wash days and retain your hair moisture  http://www.wikihow.com/Follow-the-Curly-Girl-Method-for-Curly-Hair.

Have you tried washing your hair with baking soda? Please write your experience in the comment box below and thank you for reading.

About Nkechi

Hey!  I'm Nkechi, a beautiful young woman who is on a journey to becoming the woman God has created for me to be. I love to help people achieve their goals and i'm sharing my thoughts and things I'm learning in hopes to inspire others. I believe that beauty lies within us all and those who dare to grow and express it would achieve true greatness, happiness and fulfilment.  Here you will find lots of things ranging from natural hair care, fashion, beauty, being single, spirituality, and random fun stuff. :)
This entry was posted in My Hair Journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a comment

