Dear Friends

It’s been  six months and a day since I posted any article here and I owe you all an apology. I am really sorry for being away for so long.

I’ve been on a bit of hiatus. Writing my final exams at the university, completing and defending my project and just when I thought that I was free from all the struggles of school and the hard work. I was assaulted by reality – You are now a graduate! You are no longer entitled to pocket money, purse money and all forms of moneys from parents, uncles and aunties. You now have the responsibility of footing your own bills and of course giving to those who are coming after you. You no longer have the excuse-”I’m a student” to save you from buying that toy house for your niece or the bicycle for your nephew.

I became really anxious, made rash decisions ( which i would tell you about later). One of which was to pursue a career in Human resource management. I sent out tons of CVs applying for Jobs and devouring every article i can find on HR. I got invited to a few interviews which I passed but denied the offer because of the pay. It’s amazing how employers look for cheap labour these days. Finally though, I landed this job which I like very much. It’s only a 15mins walk from my house, my Job Description is open ended which is both tasking and rewarding.

 

What has been the state of my hair through all this time?

Well I’m sure you can guess. I neglected my hair – I went back to my old ways of Braiding and constant protective Styling which does my hair absolutely no good.

 

The Result?

I’m ashamed to say that my hair thinned out, my hair lines receded further and my hair lost it’s tensile strength.

 

AND NOW?

I made that decision again to take care of my hair and to motivate me, I watched several videos of this vlogger who inspires me in every way – with her family, her spirituality, her personality, her consistency, her confidence and of course how she cares for her 4c hair. In my next post i’m going to upload a few links to her videos.

I have been wearing my hair natural without any protective styles for the past one month. I have nurtured it and I can say that I am proud of where I am right now with my hair. My hair lines have regrown a little bit. My hair is constantly moisturised and I can now hear clearly what it says to me about how it wants to be styled, what oil not to use on it and so on.

A couple of my friends who turned natural recently have also been a great source of motivation not to lose faith but to keep on with the good fight of caring for my kinky, tightly coiled 4c hair. One of them is Ayotola my co-author. This week, she would be posting an article on why she ‘big chopped’ and her journey so far. I would also be interviewing my other friend Yewande on same.

So please stay tuned!

Thank you all for reading please remember to leave your comments and suggestions!

 

Lots of Love

Me

About Nkechi

Hey!  I'm Nkechi, a beautiful young woman who is on a journey to becoming the woman God has created for me to be. I love to help people achieve their goals and i'm sharing my thoughts and things I'm learning in hopes to inspire others. I believe that beauty lies within us all and those who dare to grow and express it would achieve true greatness, happiness and fulfilment.  Here you will find lots of things ranging from natural hair care, fashion, beauty, being single, spirituality, and random fun stuff. :)
This entry was posted in Hair. Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a comment

