Unveiling Banke Banjo

The Big Chop

The Big Chop

I started my natural journey April 2012. It wasn’t a spontaneous decision neither was it whimsical or impulsive. I decided to transition because I was overwhelmed by the beauty and texture of the African hair. I realized my hair would have been more beautiful if I had left it kinky and natural.

I didn’t have a say as a kid, I grew up with a perm believing that was the trendy and classy way to look. Then It occurred to me that we(Africans) were just imitating the westerns,that indeed we could wear our hair natural without chemicals added and still look sexy,confident,classy and beautiful, I made the decision to go natural and thus was the beginning of my journey. I left my hair unpermed for months whilst visiting the salon to get the relaxed ends trimmed. Soon enough my hair became tough and curly and of course difficult to maintain. I confided a lot in YouTube and Google where I learn to moisturize my hair with olive oil and fruits such as avocado pear and bananas(they do wonders to the hair, trust me). I also used a lot of Onion juice and Castor oil.

One day, tragedy struck(it was literally tragedy) in August 2013, I was getting impatient with the pace my hair was growing and I had seen a video on Youtube (my trusted confidante) where a girl had texturized her hair but it still had its natural texture. So I decided to do the same except I had dyed my hair two weeks earlier and it finally became known to me after I texturized my hair that Relaxers/ Texturizers and Dye products do NOT go together. It was tragic, I watched my hair literally fall from my scalp like leaves in autumn. I wept. I had spent so much to get to the stage I was and I blew it in a blink of an eye..I blamed the hairdressers for not being enlightened but I was really to be blamed for not being patient.

After a few days of being morose, I decided to have the big chop. Now I am restarting my journey and consciously staying away from all forms of chemical hair products, going natural all the way!

About Nkechi

Hey!  I'm Nkechi, a beautiful young woman who is on a journey to becoming the woman God has created for me to be. I love to help people achieve their goals and i'm sharing my thoughts and things I'm learning in hopes to inspire others. I believe that beauty lies within us all and those who dare to grow and express it would achieve true greatness, happiness and fulfilment.  Here you will find lots of things ranging from natural hair care, fashion, beauty, being single, spirituality, and random fun stuff. :)
This entry was posted in Hair and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Unveiling Banke Banjo

  1. Chima says:

    From a guy’s perspective: I believe many Nigerian men are tired of seeing ladies striving to look foreign. Some of my female friends would have been tired of my ironic compliment “Y’all look the same” and true so, our naija ladies all look alike these days. I think you have taken a bold step but it also goes very far to show what a confident African queen you are. Remain beautiful 🙂

    Like

    • enkechi says:

      Thank you soo much for reading Michael. I really appreciate. Sent from my BlackBerry 10 smartphone. From: Unveiled by KechSent: Tuesday, 26 November 2013 17:35To: nkechiubakaeze@gmail.comReply To: Unveiled by KechSubject: [New comment] Unveiling Banke Banjo

      a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; }

      a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; }

      /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com

      Chima commented: “From a guy’s perspective: I believe many Nigerian men are tired of seeing ladies striving to look foreign. Some of my female friends would have been tired of my ironic compliment “Y’all look the same” and true so, our naija ladies all look alike these day”

      Like

  2. Oh yes Banke, go all the way natural, you’ll soon reap the benefits. Just be patient and you’ll be glad you did

    Like

Please leave a comment

